Childminder needed!

Arghhhh, the inevitable has happened in the last couple of weeks. After a fair amount of upheaval I have started a new job which is very exciting and is going to keep me pretty busy. It is with the same company but in a completely new area which is both challenging and refreshing. I feel like I am learning again. It is fairly full on and had me thinking that maybe I would go back full time or at least another morning a week.

However, at the end of the first week our nanny asked to have a chat and a sinking feeling hit me. She handed in her notice.

Thankfully, nothing to do with us, it is just that she’s been doing this job for a long time, over 10 years and more than 3 with us and wants to work out what to do next with her life. I totally understand that and think it is the right thing for her.

But….I am gutted. She is amazing and has been with us since Munchkin boy was 7 months old. That means she has been in his life for all the time that he can remember and she was with us whilst I was pregnant with cupcake baby and as she was born. 

She loves our kids and we both cried when she said she had decided to leave. I don’t even want to think about how Munchkin boy will take the news.

On a practical note we are now faced with finding an alternative. We’ll probably go down the childminder route now that both kids are a bit older and Munchkin boy will be starting school in September. But man, easier said than done. It’s a weird time of year to try and find someone with vacancies and every route I am trying seems to be ending in a dead end. I’d rather try and find someone that is recommended by someone I know so am talking to mums at school who have been really helpful. 

The idea of leaving the kiddos with someone I don’t know (again) is fairly stressful and I’ll admit to shedding a tear or two this morning over the whole thing. We’ve got 5 weeks more or less to get this sorted out.

Fingers crossed it all comes good.

On a positive note, i would like to send some good karma the way of the person who handed in my iPhone 5 at Heathrow Lost property last Friday after I left it on the plane from Zurich. I had a feeling in my bones that it would turn up and thankfully, it is now on its way back to me. Hope something really nice happens to you today, whoever you are.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Childminder needed!

  1. Its always difficult finding the ‘perfect’ person to care for our children whilst we are not able to be with them. I wish you all the luck in finding the right childminder, please do keep us updated. Good luck with your new job role.

  2. tee2072 says:

    My childminder did that to me just before Christmas, but with much less notice. So I found a day nursery instead, as even if one worker quits? There’s always another worker.

    Something you might want to keep in mind. Or not!

    Good luck.

  3. Mummykimmy says:

    Oh dear I sympathise, that must be quite an upheaval! I was lucky and found a nursery in our new city much quicker than I expected. Breaking the news that we were moving away to the wee man’s current nursery was terrible though, it felt like a break-up! Best of luck with finding a solution and congrats on the new role!

Leave a Reply

