Desiderio

Desire, longing …

Sometimes that feeling can hit me like an overwhelming need for something.

In the most unusual places at the most unusual times. I am sitting right now in Portland, Oregon where we are spending our Christmas vacation and in a rare moment of peace I picked up a book at random in our family’s study. It’s called “Seasons in Tuscany” by Alan Parker. Seated under a blanket on the sofa with a damp, grey winter sky outside the window, I started reading about the warm, baked earth of Italy. All of a sudden, I felt a physical ache, a longing to be there.

It is over eight years since I left and yet my love for the country itself remains undiminished. I miss it.

Especially on a rainy, grey day.

This entry was posted in travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Desiderio

  1. Our love for places once visited remains with us – memories of our laughter. Emotions – such a complex feeling that can be brought about by the smallest things. Hopefully one day you may return 🙂

  2. So tell me what did you end up buying that beautiful daughter of yours?

    • londonmum says:

      she ended up getting a ton of stuff!! I bought her a roby horse which she is a bit unsure of but the biggest hits have been a play kitchen and a pair of fairy wings. She still plays with her brother’s trucks and diggers though too 😉 x

  3. I have a deep love for the Mediterranean. A trip to Southern Spain a few years back made me feel slightly better, only slightly 🙂 For since I studied art history and the history of Spain at University, I have dreamt of nothing but. I feel as though I had a past life in either Italy or Spain. So comfortable was I, when I landed, like I had lived there all my life. This year we went Athens, Florence and Rome… Whilst Rome was crowded and busy, Florence took my breath away. Lucca, was even better. I understand your feelings. It is exactly how I feel. I have my photos to keep me going, but it is not nearly enough. Here’s a New Years wish that you may visit soon! Happy Holidays

    • londonmum says:

      thank you! I studied History of Art in Venice and suddenly felt like this was the country for me. I’ve spent over 6 years in Italy but have now lived in London for over 8. We’ve been there on holidays but it has been a long while since we’ve been there.
      I hope you get to visit soon too!
      x

  4. diannegray says:

    Sometimes things hit us at odd times. I miss my home (particularly when it’s very cold and I long for some warmth). One day you may be back there again…

Leave a Reply

