More than a Mum

Even writing that makes me feel bad. Like it sounds like I am saying that ‘just‘ being a mum isn’t enough? To be honest to myself though, it isn’t enough for me. I am more than that. Or at least, I was. I think it is fair to say that I am in the middle of what seems to be a bit of an identity crisis right now. Am I a mum, am I a wife, am I a career woman, am I …..?

Someone fairly wise last week suggested that I remember what it is in my life that has made me happy in the past. Then yesterday as I was reading through some of my favourite blogs I came across a new post from KateTakes5. She has written a blog post about who she was before she was a mum and reading through some of the other posts by people who have linked to it, there is a real sense of ‘hey, I was actually super cool before I became a mum’ but also ‘and here’s why I love being a mum’.

That’s a bit how I feel. So I had a look through some old photos, or at least the ones I could find, to remind myself how I became who I am today.

So here goes,

I grew up just beside here on the north west coast of Ireland

mussenden temple

ok not right in that building but just beside it!

I have a degree in History and Italian which meant that I got to live here for a year

piazza san marco venice

Venice Italy

I then went to live in Milan for 6 years with an Italian man. Funnily enough, there aren’t any photos of that period as he kept them all when I left! It was there that I got into the industry that I am in today, internet and ecommerce.

I also got married in Italy. Not to the italian but to my darling american man.

wedding

Tuscan vineyard kiss

but I am jumping ahead a little…to celebrate being a single lady in between times I went to Africa on my own and saw these up close

lion

my dream come true

stayed in a treehouse on a tiny island called Chole Minji, off the coast of Zanzibar

and had fish cooked for me on a piece of sand that appears once a day in the middle of the Indian Ocean

sand bar

perfect peace

I’ve learned to cook food in the places where it is from

learning to cook in kerala

cooking indian food in Kerala, south west India

flattering right? Crab in Thailand

I’ve indulged my adrenaline fuelled side in various ways, like helicopter rides,

 

helicopter ride in london

going up in a helicopter over London

 

or driven Mustangs in California

i would really like to own this car

or having my first flying lesson

it was a VERY small plane

I used to stay in places like this

Cliveden, England – a weekend gift from my company

and this

Rooftop pool of the Intercontinental in Hong Kong. This is my one and only glamour shot 😉

and I got to see places like this

kiss on front of the Taj Mahal

and this

very excited honeymooners on the right, less excited old timer on the left (hong kong)

I used to party a lot too

with my girls at a 1920s prohibition party

smoking shisha in singapore (it’s legal ok…)

I took a LOT of photos

that’s when my ass was still fairly decent too

and generally chilled the heck out

most peaceful place in the world – the Datai in Langkawi, Malaysia

It has felt kind of showy offy doing this but the aforementioned wise person also told me to celebrate my life. So who am I?

A person, who has had the massive good fortune to travel, try new things, meet new people, be surrounded by amazing family and friends. And who now, has the added blessing of being a  wife to a remarkable, loving husband

on honeymoon

 

and a mother to two gorgeous, crazy, special children.

Munchkin boy and Cupcake Baby

and I am still the same person in all those other photos, I just need to find the time!

Please do go and have a read of some of the other people who have posted about this theme as it is a celebration of some pretty interesting and great women.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Listography, motherhood, photography, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to More than a Mum

  1. Sheley says:

    Beautiful piece with wonderful pictures. Your whole is more than the sum of your parts. You are all…….first a woman; second a wife;third a mother; and fourth a “career whatever”. I consciuosly have put them in order of importance in my opinion. You will always have yourself. You will still be with your husband (God willing) after your children have grown and are out on their own and who knows how many times your job will change over your life or if you will choose to work until you’re old enough to retire.

    In addition you have literally had the chance to experience more of the world in your thirty something years than most people get to experience in a lifetime. And this is no accident. You have made your own good fortune!!

    So my “advice” is to enjoy who you’ve been and look forward to who’ll become!

    On another note, we’ve just had 6 wonderful days in Barecelona. We board our ship tomorrow for a leisurely cruise back to Miami!

    Take good care and we look forward to seeing you in April!

    • londonmum says:

      Shelley, thank you so much for your lovely comment. I totally agree with your words and coming from someone who has been there and done it before me, I appreciate it. Haven’t been to Barcelona, you’ll have to tell me all about it when you come over. Enjoy your cruise and love to Burt x

  2. Suzanne says:

    Your life is amazing. SO amazing.

  3. Loved this post and the photos. Your wedding photo is amazing. As is the Taj Mahal. You are fortunate to have experienced all that you have. I see through these photos and your post that are still ‘young’ and now have questions possibly about where your life is heading? From what you have already accomplished in your life I would say you have nothing to fear. Being a mum still is being ‘cool’ having a career and juggling raising a family and maintaining a relationship is something many women dream of. Your identity will remain the same…you will just look at things differently as you get older… it isn’t a bad thing.. it’s something to embrace 🙂

    • londonmum says:

      you are exactly right in that I am not entirely sure right now where my life is headed. Coming from someone who always knew that answer to that it is a bit confusing. Thank you for your words and advice, all of this helps and is definitely part of the reason I wrote the post in the first place x

  4. The Yogic Housewife says:

    Thank you for this post I really enjoyed reading it and t has inspired me to do the same kind of post this week. It is sooo important to celebrate who you are and remember all the blessings that you have in life. You are an amazing woman.

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. Love your post. Love your photos and my favorite is the Taj Mahal and Venice. I am blessed to be able to travel and see the world, also grow up in different parts of the world and savor every bit of it. You have a beautiful family 🙂
    I have wondered about my role in life, many times. What defines me? is it being a mum, a wife or both and a career woman. I chose to stay home with my girls and have not gone back to work since. I am often asked what it is I do, as if, what I do( taking care of my girls, being there for everything, volunteering for every activity and in school, driving many miles for sport) means nothing to those who have a career. My opinion is that all women, working and non- working have the hardest job in the world. Juggling just about everything, fighting to be equal, raising tiny human beings to be kind, responsible, civic minded adults and dealing with everything else. I realized by fighting to be someone, I am not necessarily defined. I am who I am and I walk with everything I have, taking it in my stride. I have to. You will too. You are who you are.

    • londonmum says:

      thank you so much for taking the time both to ready my post and write such a thoughtful comment. It is such a difficult question and I don’t think there is ever a perfect answer to being a mum. We just need to be a bit more zen about it x

  6. Pingback: Who Am I? « The Yogic Housewife

  7. Wow. You are so beautiful, and your life has been so exciting! I wish I had been to half of those places! What a great way to tell your life story in pictures.

  8. You are blessed with a beautiful family and adventures to places to most of us only dream about. Awesome wedding picture by the way. Merry Christmas to you and your family. Oh, a “mum” is more than just a mom. They are our unsung heroes!

  9. Pingback: Robert Biro

Leave a Reply

