Teacher dilemma

Munchkin boy started his new nursery school a couple of weeks ago and all has seemed to be going well.
This morning though I saw something that left me a bit cold. There are two teachers, one of whom seems lovely and another who has always struck me as a bit severe. Haven’t seen her smile once.
The kids were asked to bring in something connected to autumn this week and munchkin had collected a few leaves which we’d put in a little sandwich bag. When we got to school this morning I told him to take it to his teacher while I hung up his coat. He was quite excited about this but as I was watching out of the corner of my eye I saw her take the bag with an expression of what I can only describe as real annoyance. Thankfully, I don’t think munchkin saw and I am not sure why she was annoyed but I was really uncomfortable about having seen the exchange.
Maybe she was just very busy or maybe we had not ‘done’ what we were supposed to do (there seem to be lots of rules!) but I can’t help but wonder if she is always like that with him.
There is no way he will be able to tell me and I have a parent’s evening next week but unsure if it is even worth raising.
Again, I guess munchkin is happy but the protective mum in me doesn’t want anyone to be unpleasant to him. Of course, in life this will inevitably happen but I would have hoped not in his very first taste of the big, wide world.
Have any of you had experience with this?

This entry was posted in motherhood, parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Teacher dilemma

  1. Alicia S. says:

    At such a tender age, there’s no excusable reason for an adult to be unkind. Working with children is a test of patience and character, but it irks me to no end when teachers are harsh to kids who’ve done nothing to even test them yet. I don’t think it’s worth causing a fuss over unless it continues to happen, but I’d kind of send out that ‘I’m mamma bear’ vibe to her at the next conference 😉

    • londonmum says:

      i think that is very good advice. I could feel my mamma bear hackles rising but probably just a one off. I quizzed Munchkin over lunch as to what he thought about his teachers and he said he really liked them and they were nice to him. But he is 3 and also tells me that there is a large yellow egg in his bedroom…. 😉

  2. All I can suggest is when you have the parent night perhaps mention casually. “Did we do something the other day”… or “Were you upset with Munchkin for some reason?”.. this will lead to her asking the question of “Why”. Then you can explain what you saw and it concerned you.. We are all protective mums and don’t want our children being hurt with a look or negativity..unfortunately in the big wide world it is going to happen. But if it was me I’d be nipping it in the bud… maybe she was having an off morning, but at least if you bring it up you should get a response? Good Luck.

    • londonmum says:

      Thank you for taking the time to reply to my post. Any advice is most welcomed. I am thinking of raising it by saying that I am not entirely sure what is the best way to hand over any tasks he has been given (which is true)… it is never clear from the notes what day you are supposed to bring things in and if you are supposed to leave things in a certain place. That might be an ‘in’ to the conversation. I’ll see how it goes!

  3. Expat Mammy says:

    I think I’d be feeling the exact same, if it’s still bothering you, bring it up

  4. Expat Mammy says:

    I think I’d be feeling the exact same, if it’s still bothering you, bring it up

Leave a Reply

