Growing up

My poor neglected blog. People said when I went back to work that the first thing to go would be my blog and I am afraid they are right. However, I don’t want to let it go completely so when I have some very rare free time I want to try and update it. So many things have been going on in the last few months that I hardly know where to start but the most important in the last couple of weeks have been my kids’ birthdays. They are both early July babies so I thought maybe it would be nice to share how much they have grown (shed a tear…)

This blog has been very much about my Munchkin boy as I started it when I was off on maternity leave with him so it is fitting that I start with him.

His ‘Birth’ Day – July 2009

His 1st Birthday – July 2010

His 2nd Birthday – July 2011

His 3rd Birthday – July 2012

Words begin to fail me when I think of how much he has grown in the last 3 years. He has gone from my little baby to very much his only person, sometimes wiser beyond his years it seems. He is the big boy in the family, taking care of his baby sister. He’s smart and funny and infuriating and bouncing off the walls and sweet and sensitive and a dancer and he makes my heart burst with pride and joy. He’ll be starting nursery/school in September and already has his little school bag and his uniform. I went to my first ever parents’ evening a couple of weeks ago. How did I go from being a child myself to being the ‘parent’? It astounds me. My first born is a child now, not a baby, not a toddler, a child. Holy crap…..

This recent picture sums up how I think his personality is now

And then there’s crazy number 2…

Here’s her ‘birthday’ – July 2011

and here she is on her 1st birthday – July 2012

so to make matters worse my little baby turned 1 a couple of weeks ago. I guess that makes her a toddler now rather than a baby (more tears from a heartbroken mamma). She is a whole different kettle of fish. Determined, strong, sweet, snuggly, giggly, independent. She started walking at 10 months and now chases her brother up and down the house. She can hold her own in the rough and tumble play that he does with her but will run to snuggle in my lap when it all gets a bit too much. It is fascinating seeing the difference between the two of them.

This sums her up pretty well right now

They are my world, they have made me the ‘grown up’ and I am so incredibly proud and lucky to have them.

This entry was posted in motherhood, parenting, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Growing up

  1. jolkona87 says:

    they are really lovely kids ^_^ …..

  2. tracynnat09 says:

    they are the most presious gift you could ever recieve …your children are absolutly beautiful 😀 I cant believe my daughter is 4 already ..sometimes i am too scared to blink cause i am afraid i will miss something or one day ill blink and they will be 21 and i will be like where did the years go?? The best part about being a parent is that we hold every memory that no one else can take away! we get to see the people they turn out to be ..and no doubt as a parent we would be proud!!

  3. Londonmum, Thank you for sharing the photos of your beautiful children and yes alas they grow up way too quickly, I remember holding both my girls in my arms after they were born and now they are 29 and 25. So DO enjoy the precious time whilst they are little and beyond. You have an amazing journey ahead of you. 🙂

    • londonmum says:

      Thank you so much. I had heard so many people say that about them growing up too quickly before I had my kids. Now I realise how much it is true. No matter whether your kids are the age of mine or yours, being a mum feels always the same. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

