Benchmarks – new photo project

You know those things you have been thinking about for ages and never actually get round to doing? This is one of mine and I have decided to stop procrastinating and get on with it.

This is going to be a bit of an experiment for me. I want to start a photo project, nothing too serious, just something to keep in mind when I am out and about and to chronicle it here on my blog.

There is something which always catches my eye when I am out on a walk. Park benches. Before it sounds too dire I need to add something, the reason I take a closer look. It is the little brass plaques on certain benches that draws me in. You know the type of thing: a name, maybe a date and usually an inscription. People have taken the time to dedicate a little resting place in life to someone they have known, cared about, loved. Usually the benches are in places where the person who has died loved in their lifetime, a particular park, a certain view. It may sound a little morbid but I love reading these inscriptions and wondering about the people who inspired them. Who were these people? Why did they particularly like this place? Who were they in the lives of the people who did this kind act for them?

Occasionally, I take pictures of ones that I really like but I’d like to make it something I do as a matter of course. It is my way of passing on the beauty of the memory and the love. I have decided to call these posts “Benchmarks”.

This is what I’d like to do: take a picture of the inscription and pair it with the view that you would see if you sat on that bench.

Today we went on a lovely walk from Ham House along the river Thames to where we live in Kingston. Here are some I came across along the way.

such simplicity

In Memory of Rita Cedro, what it meant to lose you no one will ever know.

view across the Thames to Teddington

past times

In memory of times past Catherine (Kit) Foster 1916-2009

near Ham House

a relation of Catherine?

Ken Foster, 10.04.29 – 17.10.07, thy eternal summer shall not fade, dearly loved by family and friends

between Ham House and Teddington Lock

someone who loved the river

In loving memory of Gwen Rose who so enjoyed this stretch of the Thames

near Canbury Gardens, Kingston

These are my first “Benchmarks” and I hope you like them. I would be so delighted if anyone out there does the same thing and would like to share their links. I can’t do a linky on my blog but please feel free to link up using the comment box.

My very ideal would be to have someone come across these pictures and tell me a little bit about the people who have received these lovely dedications. They must have been very special.

This entry was posted in Benchmarks, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Benchmarks – new photo project

  1. Shelley says:

    What a great project. I’m going to miss the frequency of your postings when you go back to work and don’t have as much “free” time:O)

    • londonmum says:

      I’m glad you like the idea. I am going to have to make a real effort to keep up with my blog once I do go back to work next month but usually I write on Wednesdays or at the weekend anyway so hopefully it won’t get too neglected.

  2. Shelley says:

    And what a wonderful way to share a “little bit” of London (or at least a London suburb) withthe rest of us.

  3. Alison says:

    Just happened across this post on bench marks. My husband despaired of me when we are out for a walk somewhere with these little plaques on the benches. I really need to read them ALL. It seriously slows the pace of the stroll. I first noticed these plaques on benches in Jardin des Plantes in Paris. They brought tears to my eyes. I so want to know the back stories.

    • londonmum says:

      Finally another person who seems to be fascinated by these. I can’t resist. Unfortunately, I haven’t kept up with my intention of posting about the ones I see but you are inspiring me to start again. Thanks for leaving a comment

Leave a Reply

