#Listography – my 5 best…

It’s time to kick off 2012 with a new Listography from Katetakes5. The theme this time is to talk about 5 of your “bests”. It can be anything, for example, Kate talks about a best meal, her best blog post, her best friend…. The only rule is that there have to be 5.

I find inspiration for this sort of thing usually when I am up feeding my baby girl in the early hours of the morning. The choices tend to be the first things that come into my head so bear with me if they seem somewhat random.

1) Best feeling in the world..

by mattcashmore

Slipping back into a warm bed after you have been up feeding the baby in the middle of the night, safe in the knowledge that you might actually get another couple of hours sleep.  (and yes…there are definitely other good feelings to rival that but take into account what I said above!)

2) Best way to get rid of a bad mood

by Wisconsin Historical Images

Dance. I admit, I am crap dancer. No, really, sometimes my son even tells me not to dance. Gangly newborn giraffes have more rhythm than me which is just as well that I never relied on that particular method of contraception. However, on the mornings when I feel like I have been dragged back from the depths of hell and no amount of caffeine will make me human there is something which works.

We switch on the radio, usually to some dance music station like Kiss.fm and we have a dance Pardeeeeeeee. This involves me, my son, my husband and the baby flinging ourselves around the kitchen and shaking our bootays. It is fair to say that all three of them are better dancers than me (Cupcake is only 6 months) but hey, we have a good old time.

3) Best book to re-read

Me at a Prohibition party

I know…it’s a big old claim but I still maintain this is up there. The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald is a dazzling, stunningly well written observation of society. I first read it as part of my ‘A’ level English Literature course and fell in love. I go back to it again and again and during my recent house move discovered that I have 3 copies (if anyone wants one…).  Curious to see the movie of it that is coming out at the end of the year with DiCaprio in it but am afraid I will hate it. Anyway, here is a quote from the poem at the beginning of the book –

“Then wear the gold hat, if that will move her;

If you can bounce high, bounce for her too,

Till she cry “Lover, gold-hatted, high-bouncing lover,

I must have you!”

Thomas Parke D’Invilliers.”

4) Best beauty product I own

Got to be my new mascara from Benefit. It is called “They’re Real” and you can read more about it my post here. Try it, it is seriously miraculous.

5) Best thing about having kids

the gigglers

The laughter. I have laughed more in the 2 and a half years since my son was born than I have in my whole life. My kids make me laugh every single day, even on the tough ones. That’s yet another of the things they don’t tell you before you have kids – they are completely hilarious.

So there we have it. My 5 bests. Go along to Kate’s blog and check out the other entries and if you feel like it, have a go yourself.

This entry was posted in Listography, motherhood, parenting, photography, Products, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #Listography – my 5 best…

  1. Kelly says:

    Brilliant list. The one about dancing could have been written by me! I am also dreadful but love it all the same, there’s nothing else to beat that afternoon slump sometimes! Similar feelings about The Great Gatsby x

  2. This is a wonderful list. I really feel like I know you better. You’re a great writer x

  3. Kate Takes 5 says:

    I just re-read The Great Gatsby after finding a copy that my Dad had given me. http://katetakes5.blogspot.com/2011/10/little-legacy-unexpected-find.html. It was like a sigh of relief collapsing back into it’s pages. True writing.
    (Sorry for including the link but it’s part of the reason for the comment!)

    • londonmum says:

      I loved reading your post. Your father sounded like a great man and how lovely of him to leave you an inscription like that. It’s a special book that now must be 100 times more special for you. Thanks for sharing x

Leave a Reply

