laying old ghosts to rest

Is that actually an expression or have I made that up? Can ghosts be called old? what’s a new ghost like?

Anyway, not to get too far off the subject I managed to lay an old ghost to rest this week. Here’s what the deal is.

When I was 18 I headed off to university in England. Having grown up in a village of 900 people on the northern irish coast I wasn’t completely a country bumpkin but not entirely far off it. I moved into uni halls which were made up of a floor of girls and a floor of boys above it. We had our introductory meeting and sat across from me on the floor was this very, very cute boy. He was a year older than me, having done a gap year (tres sophisticated in my eyes), he was blonde, he was tanned, an actor and he was really pretty posh. His family had owned a castle at one point. I thought he was a.m.a.z.i.n.g.

Luckily, he had taken a shine to me too and after a bit of toing and froing we had our 1st kiss. We were quite crazy about each for a couple of weeks and I was on top of the world.

However, after a couple of weeks my little world came crashing down as he dumped me. I never found out why but I have a feeling it might have something to do with the fact I wasn’t ready to jump into bed with him.  It was my first taste of what it is like to be rejected and it hit me hard. I pined after him for quite a long time and it was horrifying to see him then hook up with another girl who lived on my corridor.

A lot of time has passed and it is water under the bridge.

Until this week, when lo and behold I turned on the tv to see him acting in one of my favourite programmes. At which point I announced excitedly to my husband that there was the guy who was my first boyfriend at uni. I think he was less than impressed to be informed of this fact but hid it well.

I watched the programme with a certain degree of fascination and you know what?

He isn’t cute anymore!!!!!

I know I am way too old to be so delighted by this fact but hey, I have gotten to lay the ghost I wouldn’t lay to rest.

Satisfying.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to laying old ghosts to rest

  1. The Rambling Pages says:

    I am now desperate to know who he is!!

  2. mummykimmy says:

    Hahaha, love it! And yes, please share…

Leave a Reply

