Listography – Gigs you’d like to be/have been at

This week’s listography from Kate takes 5 has the theme “5 gigs you wish you could be/have been at”. This is a goody. I love going to gigs although am a bit more limited now with the little ones here. The last good gig I went to was the Killers at the O2 in London when I was pregnant with Munchkin. It rocked and he is also now a big fan.

I grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and so if any band made the effort to come over then a bunch of us used to hire a bus and go see them. This meant that I’ve seen some brilliant bands in their infancy and some which never made it past that stage! A few great gigs I’ve been to include: Oasis, Blur, Nirvana, Happy Mondays, Inspiral Carpets, Massive Attack, the Verve, the Cure, Ben Harper, Manic Street Preachers, Daft Punk, LCD Soundsystem and James. When I lived in Italy I got freebie tickets through my boyfriend’s job and so went to see people I wouldn’t normally go and see like Peter Gabriel and Eric Clapton (both amazing!!!)

So who would I like to have seen/see?

1. Elvis

I love Elvis, especially the glittery suited Vegas phase. Seeing him in his hey day must have been quite something. The King lives on…..

2. Nirvana unplugged

I have seen this band in concert but I would love to have been at their MTV unplugged performance. I watched it endlessly on tv and my heart broke every time. Pure, raw emotion. That cardigan….Check it out on youtube.

3. U2

I’ve only ever seen them when I went to Live 8 in Hyde Park but have never been to one of their concerts. It is practically impossible to get tickets if you live in Ireland but maybe some day I’ll get to go, hopefully before they become geriatric (note Rolling Stones, it is time to stop).

4. the Buble

and here I become desperately uncool. I love me a bit of the Buble. You can’t help but sing along plus I’ve seen a couple of documentaries of him on tour and he seems like a genuinely nice, decent bloke. I think it would be a great night out and I might even be able to persuade my husband to come along (albeit in disguise)

5. Hothouse Flowers

You may never have heard of this band but when I was 11 I loved them. They were an irish band that had a great song called “Don’t go”. I had tickets to go and see them at my first ever concert. Unfortunately, my grandpa was ill and we had to travel to Scotland and so I missed it. I was gutted and my mum bought me a ticket to another concert to make up for it.

That’s how my first ever gig was Jason Donovan…….

Check out the others on Kate Takes 5

This entry was posted in Listography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listography – Gigs you’d like to be/have been at

  1. Kate Takes 5 says:

    Oh Hothouse Flowers were my first gig!! RDS with Tracy Chapman and Deacon Blue. Sorry to upset you further but it was sooooooo good 😀

  2. londonmum says:

    noooooooooo. you are killing me 🙂

Leave a Reply

