Listography goes travelling

Funny, I was thinking this weekend about what topics I’d love to come up with for Listography and this was one of them. The topic from Kate Takes 5 this week is “Top 5 places you’d like to visit”.

I love to travel so it has proven pretty hard to narrow it down to 5.  There are still loads of places I’d like to see and I am hoping that once the little ones are a wee bit bigger we can start to do some pretty cool trips with them. I love the far-flung holiday idea but long flights and uncertain paths with little kids sounds like hard work. However, I think there are ways to adapt a bit without losing the excitement – maybe we pick destinations nearer home or we have a little bit more of a certain plan 🙂

Anyway, here’s my current Top 5 places I’d like to visit

1) Egypt

This seems to feature on many people’s lists and I can understand why. There are just so many amazing things to see: the pyramids, the sphinx, the temples, the museum in Cairo, the Red Sea, the felucca cruises. It really does sound so fascinating, a culture that was light years ahead of its time. A queen who almost brought down the might of Rome with her beauty (plus she used to bathe in milk!!) and brought eye liner to the masses. What more could a girl want? One day soon…

2. Las Vegas + Grand Canyon

Cheating a little as they are 2 places but I know you can combine them in one trip! Have seen a lot of America but have never made to either Vegas or the Grand Canyon. I am having a little trouble convincing my husband of the value of a trip here. He’s american and has seen both. He loved the Grand Canyon and no doubt would really like to visit it again. However, he really didn’t like Vegas. He thinks it is tacky, dirty, expensive and silly. These are all the reasons why I WANT to go. I know it is not classy and that’s part of the reason I think I’ll like it. Tacky is good. Kitsch is good. I almost tried to convince him into a Elvis wedding at one point. He didn’t buy it… Maybe we’ll go one day, stay at the Bellagio and have a renewal of vows there. The photos alone would be worth it.

3. Bora Bora

This place looks like paradise. Bora Bora is an island in the Leeward group of the Society Islands of French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France in the Pacific Ocean. The island is surrounded by a lagoon and a barrier reef. In the center of the island are the remnants of an extinct volcano rising to two peaks, Mount Pahia and Mount Otemanu. A couple of friends of mine went there years back and showed me the most stunning photos and ever since then I’ve wanted to go. The thing that has put me off is how far away it is but it’s a dream trip.

4. Amalfi Coast

Or more specifically, the Le Sirenuse hotel in Positano on the Amalfi Coast in Italy. I have been fortunate to have been able to travel all over Italy but strangely have never made it to the Amalfi coast. It looks magical and this hotel is the place to stay in. Horrendously expensive so will have to be a lottery win moment but wowsers, it looks gorgeous. Would also be nice to visit a place in Italy that is a first for both my husband and myself. We’d lounge about the hotel, visit little villages, hire a convertible, take a boat trip to Capri and Ischia. Mmmmmm.

5. Cuba

Viva la revolucion!!! There is a certain appeal about a place which has made a stand against such a powerful nation. That, for reasons which are not beautiful has been forced to stay in the past and therefore, retains a charm about it that I really want to see. I fancy just hopping in one of those old cars and driving around the country, dancing, swimming, smoking cigars, taking photographs. Thank goodness Jer has a British passport as well otherwise I’d be going on my own!

Thanks, Kate, for a fun list. Check out the others on her blog.

This entry was posted in Listography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Listography goes travelling

  1. Hannah says:

    ooo bora bora…forgot that. And Fiji! x

  2. Kate Takes 5 says:

    What a wonderful list. Bora Bora will have to be added to mine along with about 50 others now…My inlaws are in Cuba for a 3 week trip at the moment – having just got back from 3 months in Oz if you don’t mind. So all is not lost – we can do it all when we’re 60!

  3. zoe_paige says:

    Bora Bora looks simply devine! I really want to be there, right now! And that hotel on the Amalfi Coast, all I can say is Oh My Gosh!

  4. Shelley says:

    Las Vegas was wonderful in the 60’s and/but I agree with Jer it’s tacky now.

    With all the traveling we’ve done the only place that we’ve been to on your wish list is Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon. And we’ve seen a little bit of the Amalfi coast but never spent any real time there

  5. Oh goody I might see you in Cuba! Thank goodness I carry an Aussie passport too. Forgot about Bora Bora. Good one….

  6. Had my (first) honeymoon on the Amalfi Coast and it really is the most beautiful place. Be careful of the roads, though! They’re so twisty and windy – and those Italian drivers take no prisoners! Lovely list.

  7. Nel says:

    Vegas baby!! So nearly on my list too but got bumped off for my greed of eating ice cream in Rome.

  8. Bora Bora, wow looks amazing and has been added to my now very long list, so many places to see (or rather dream about!). Egypt is an amazing place but to nfully appreicate it, I do think you need to Cairo down to Aswan, so historical.

  9. Gemma says:

    What a sensational list. I truly love it! Particularly Positano and Egypt!

  10. TheBoyandMe says:

    Egypt is on mine and I considered putting on Cuba. I saw a Clive James documentary on Cuba about ten years + ago and have always wanted to visit the place ever since.

    I’ve been to Las Vegas, it was amazing. We took a helicopter ride to the Grand Canyon and it was absolutely awe-inspiring! I’ve also been to the Amalfi Coast and it was unbelievably beautiful. Positano is an absolute must, as is Capri (I would recommend staying over so you could see the place after the tourists have left).

  11. I must say I’m lucky enough to have been to Fiji but would love to go to Bora Bora one day. Anywhere in Italy is fine for me. Great list.

Leave a Reply

