Rain and romance

or rather rain = no romance.

Today my husband and I were going to go on a date. We never get to do this because normally we both work and at the weekend Munchkin is with us. However, I am now on maternity leave so I thought it would be a nice idea to meet up on a Friday for lunch. I got really quite excited about this and even put on proper make up….

Except that all of a sudden, a massive thunderstorm started. Don’t get me wrong, I love thunder and lightening, in fact I find it positively romantic.

What is not romantic is a husband who needs to get to the aforementioned date on his motorbike with no protective rain gear.

So we cancelled.

Like rational, married people do.

No point in my husband getting soaked.

My reaction, which I think is strongly influenced by being 900 years pregnant, is

“I guess the days when men used to cross countries for a date with me are long gone…”

I’m off to make a ham sandwich instead 😉

 

This entry was posted in Food, parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rain and romance

  1. Hope it was a postponement rather than a cancellation… It’s a struggle to keep the romance going through the baby years, but def worth the effort. Even the Headmaster of Wellington School is making speeches about it!

  2. Oh dear. I hope it was a satisfying ham sandwich. I’m guessing not.

  3. Shelley says:

    Bummer!! What does Jer do if it’s raining when he leaves the office? Just get soaked? I guess it’s the down side to motorcycles.

    BTW..I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

