No drama needed

I came across this quote from Michelle Obama today who was being interviewed in a Q & A session at a girls’ school here in the UK. She was asked about her view of relationships and said the following:

“Do not bring people in your life who weigh you down. And trust your instincts … good relationships feel good. They feel right. They don’t hurt. They’re not painful.”

This is something I totally believe in and is the message I tell my girlfriends when they have been or are still in a painful, dramatic relationship. It is also the message that I will pass on to my kids when they are a bit older.

I was totally guilty of thinking when I was younger that a relationship wasn’t “real” if it didn’t contain wild ups and downs, high dramas, tears, shouting, break ups and so on. I thought that meant that I or the person I was with really cared.

When I met my husband I realised that was all BS. Our relationship felt right, it wasn’t difficult, there weren’t massive rows or us trying to hurt each other. That’s when you realise that you have found the right person. It doesn’t mean you don’t care enough, it means that you care more. That’s love..

Smart lady, Michelle Obama!

This entry was posted in motherhood, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No drama needed

  1. Kim says:

    She’s a great role model, isn’t she? (with killer biceps!) I’ve told my little sis (who’s 19) that relationships should always leave you inspired but I think she thinks I’m a Smug Married!

Leave a Reply

