Listography – Albums by a Band

OOooh I have resisted this for a few days mainly because I think it is too damn difficult to pick only 5 albums by a Band that I like. Plus I think my list is going to have a bit of overlap with Kate’s so am going to appear woefully unoriginal!

But here goes, in no particular order:

1. U2 – Achtung Baby

Tricky one this. U2 have provided on and off the soundtrack of my life (guess that’s what happens if you come from Ireland..we even had a string quartet play one of their songs at our wedding) and I dithered between this and The Joshua Tree which I also love. However, Achtung Baby was one of the first vinyl albums I owned and I played it to death. A certain song in particular has a special place in my heart- “One”. When I was 16 I was in a doomed relationship with a boy who was a fair bit older than me (he was 22). It was teenage love at first sight for me and he even left his long-term girlfriend for me (I was such a hussy!!). However, the inevitable happened and he went back to her. The day after I found out, this song was playing on the bus on the way to school and my poor wee heart was just broken. Beautiful song and now when I hear it I remember that moment and thank the lord that I didn’t end up with him after all!!

2. Radiohead – The Bends

This one is also on Kate’s list so I suspect we may be of the same age/era! When I started university I think I owned about 4 CDs and this was one of them. It totally fitted with my angsty, 18-year-old self and I even wrote out some of the lyrics and stuck them up on my wall. I was so painfully unoriginal…

This album got played over and over and over again. Certain songs are just plain genius like “High and Dry” and “Streetspirit” and I still listen to this album a lot. My husband is an even bigger Radiohead fan than I am – he likes some of the really obscure stuff – but this album is a hit with both of us. Brilliant.

3. The Stone Roses – Second Coming

I think this album is very underrated. I waited so eagerly for it to come out and when it did I wasn’t disappointed. It brings together all that is really good about the Manchester music scene at the time (one of the reasons I decided to go to Manchester University was because of the music, the other reason was a boy but I am not going to recount that story here as it will look like I was a little boy obsessed 😉 ).

The guitar work on this album played by John Squire is fabulous. My favourite tracks are “Tears” and “How do you sleep”. If you haven’t heard the latter give it a listen, with lyrics like this how could you not?:

“How do you sleep?

How do you last the night and keep the dogs at bay?

How do you feel when you close your eyes and try and drift away?

Does it feel any better now?

Does it mean any more?

When the Angel of death comes knock knockin’

And bangin’ at your door?”

Ahh…I can remember dancing to this in a great, divey indie club called 42nd street in Manchester and singing my heart out.

4. Nirvana – Nevermind

Worth it for the album cover alone, am sure this was the reason I took Munchkin to swimming classes when he was really little!

This band, this album, this whole way of being changed the music scene massively. I was really into a mixture of indie music and slightly harder US-based music and this blew me away. I owned it on vinyl (which unfortunately got thrown out in my parents’ house move – that’s what you get for not actually being around to help them!) and listened to it all the time when revising for my exams. When Kurt Cobain died, we had a little shrine in our 6th form common room and it all seemed very tragic. Now it still seems tragic to me, not because of wasted musical talent but because he left behind a wife and a child. Such a shame.

5. The XX- XX

Stunningly uncomplicated album name and cover but that is part of what I love about this band. They strip music back and make it simple again. My husband is definitely way cooler than me when it comes to music (only music mind..) and he is always discovering new things to listen to. Some of it I like and some of it is too awful for words. The XX just make beautiful music and this album is worth a listen and then a listen again if you are not quite convinced the first time around – it’s a grower.

There, not sure why that was stressful but it was!

Hope you had fun reading and please check out the other posts on Kate’s blog.

This entry was posted in Products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Listography – Albums by a Band

  1. Kelly says:

    Great choices London Mum. I haven’t heard The XX but based on your other four choices I will be checking them out! Take care.

  2. Hannah says:

    Radiohead will always be a favourite of mind. Love them x

  3. Kate Takes 5 says:

    Firstly – your banner picture is fantastic! Secondly – didn’t know you came from Ireland too. Thirdly – love your list and still think I should have put Nirvana on mine…But – I just dont get XX. Saw them do a live set on TV and thought they were totally rubbish. Maybe I need to listen to the album? (Finally – all signed up to your lovely blog now).

    • londonmum says:

      Thank you for signing up to my blog!! How nice.
      Also lovely to hear the comment on the banner pic – I seem to spend my entire day saying that to my son sometimes.
      On the XX – think they are probably uninspiring live but give the album a go a couple of times. I wasn’t blown away at the beginning but now I really like it.
      Wishing I had put the Killers on my list but forgot so that’s why I think this one is tricky.
      Grew up not far from Derry 🙂

  4. Anne says:

    Great list. Can’t say I know XX but I’m off to check them out.

    Anne
    (Domesblissity)

  5. mum2babyinsomniac says:

    I LOVE The XX, such a good album. I’m visiting from bmb 🙂

Leave a Reply

