Frock it no.2

This is Frock it no. 4 on This Mid 30s Life‘s blog but it is my second go at this, hence my blog post title. This week’s theme is the last frock you bought. I am going to cheat a little on two counts: this dress is not technically the last dress I bought (that was a necessity maternity frock which I don’t love that much) but it is the 2nd last frock I bought. Second cheat is that I have posted about this already a while back but love the dress so much that I thought it would be perfect for Frock it.

I saw it in the vintage Fashion section on eBay (caveat…. I work for eBay but this blog is not about pushing eBay at all, if you read the rest of my posts hopefully you’ll realise that) and fell in true love. Doesn’t happen to me that often with clothes but this dress called me. I love the glamour of the 1950s and was in the middle of season 3 of Mad Men and really wanted to look like Betty Draper.

The dress was quite ridiculously expensive and I hummed and haa’d for a good few days about buying it. Where would I wear it? What if it didn’t fit? Did I really want to spend that much money? But in the end, it had to be mine. A few days later a very pretty box arrived and folded in tissue paper inside was my beautiful dress. Even more exciting was the fact that I could get into it. That was for about 4 weeks until I realised I was pregnant….

I did get to wear the dress once when we went to dinner at the Landau restaurant in the Langham Hotel in London (I HIGHLY recommend for a special occasion). The restaurant is quite glam and has a vintage feel to the decor so the dress worked. I felt so pretty and swishy and Betty Draper like. The only downside was that the corset of the dress is boned and being pregnant + eating lots of yummy food meant that by the end of the meal I was in agony! I had to get my husband to unzip the dress in the taxi on the way home much to the taxi driver’s amusement.

Anyway, I love my dress and I can’t wait till I have lost my baby weight some time this year so I can wear it again.

Front view of my 1950s dress


View of the back of the dress - really love the slightly low back

Frock it is fun and if you want to join in head over This Mid 30’s life‘s blog

This entry was posted in Fashion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Frock it no.2

  1. Mid 30s Life says:

    I think this dress gets the prize for most beautiful Frock It yet. It is absolutely stunning and I am so glad it belongs to someone who truly loves it. Otherwise I would be very very jealous.
    xx

  2. londonmum says:

    Awww thank you! So glad you like the dress, it is very special to me. I would love to know who bought it when it was brand new so long ago and where they wore it!

  3. Clare says:

    Wow, that is a BEAUTIFUL dress. Just beautiful. I wish I had something like that hanging in my wardrobe. Maybe one day…! Great Frock It choice!

    • londonmum says:

      Thank you so much! worth looking out for vintage dresses, although sometimes they can be expensive, you can still pick up bargains on various websites. Still think they are way better priced than designer clothes that you can buy right now.

  4. Claire says:

    Yes i agree what a beautiful dress πŸ™‚

  5. Glynis says:

    This is one gorgeous, elegant dress. I WANT IT!

  6. I love this dress. Yes, it should get the prettiest Frock It dress award. I bet it would look good no matter what colour it was in, but I am a big fan of black, so I would have bought it too! Thanks for sharing.

  7. What a FABULOUS frock: I love it!

  8. Kim says:

    Gorgeous – I love it when a dress can almost put you into a character! I found a purple vintage dress in a tiny shop in the backstreets of Barcelona and I always feel the history when I wear it!

  9. MmeLindt says:

    Oh, I am joining the others in my Frock It! envy. That is stunning.

    And so timeless, that you can wear it for years.

  10. Stunning! Simply stunning! I heart vintage dresses – the 50s aren’t my preferred decade but that dress defo would have caught my eye. Beautiful. And I’m a bit jealous that you did manage to fit it, even if only for a little while… πŸ˜‰

  11. Pingback: Ooh La La – latest vintage dress buys | Thoughts of a London Mum

Leave a Reply

