5 products I can’t live without

Trying this sort of blog post out for the 1st time. I was reading another blogger’s website (Kate Takes 5) and she invites her readers to try it out. Here goes:

1. Hair conditioner

If my hair conditioner is about to run out I can seriously feel some sort of crisis coming on. I wash my hair every day (horrendously bad habit started at the age of about 15) and if I don’t put conditioner on it it is catastrophically awful. My fairly unruly waves become a gigantic frizzy mess and I am incapable of leaving the house. Vain, yes….I very much am.

2. Olive Oil

I can drink the stuff. I put it on pretty much everything: pasta, mashed potatoes, bread, salads, even on myself when my skin is really dry. After living in Italy for 6 or so years I have become extremely fussy about what kind I buy. My advice: Buy italian, buy the most expensive you can afford, ignore the usual Tuscan or Ligurian stuff and try real, proper southern italian olive oil. The best I have ever tasted comes from a region called Puglia which is the heel of the boot. Look on the back of the label on the bottle and check the letters in the brackets if it doesn’t directly say Puglia. Le, which stands for Lecce, and Ba, which stands for Bari, are two well known provinces. This stuff will taste about 10 times stronger than your normal store bought stuff but it is divine. If you are lucky enough to be able to visit Borough Market in London then there is a fantastic stall called The Olive Oil Co. which sells olive oil from Puglia. They sell it in glass bottles that you can bring back and have refilled so it is ecologically friendly too! They will let you try different types and you should ask them to let you try the strongest. You won’t go back to normal store bought, I promise you.

3. Moisturiser

Again, the vanity…but really if I didn’t put moisturiser on my face immediately after getting out of the shower my face would crack like mud drying on a hot summer’s day. Well, maybe not really but that’s what it feels like. The relief of applying moisturiser is amazing and I would be a red, flakey creature without it. Currently, using a combination of serum + moisturiser by Ole Henriksen that FINALLY seems to work for my skin.

4. my car

Now I feel totally un eco friendly by saying that. I survived in London for about 5 years without having a car but that was before I had a kid. There are 2 reasons why I would be in deep trouble without a car.

a) I need to be at work for 9 am and my nanny comes at 8.30 am. I need to be home in the evening at 6.30 pm and leave the office at 6 pm. This gives me a 30 minute window to get either direction and by public transport in London that is impossible. It might work if everything was running on time but frequently there are train delays and buses don’t turn up. Having a car means I can live this delicate work/life balance.

b) I am 8 months pregnant and live in a massive city. We are blessed to live near a nice heathland area but if we want to go to the supermarket, take Munchkin to a playpark or anywhere else really then having a car is a god send. It means I can pop him in the car, drive 10 minutes to somewhere and then only have to carry him for a little bit if he is tired.

Plus, it means I can play really loud music when I am on my own.

5. Duvet

How did they survive in the olden days with sheets and blankets? Ughhhhhhh..

Now you know what to do. Write your list of top 5 products on your own blog and then come back here and  add it to the linky below (have just signed up for the linky widget and haven’t had confirmation yet so will add as soon as I get it)- and don’t forget to visit some of the other entries on the list too!

I got mine from Kate Takes 5.

This entry was posted in Products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 5 products I can’t live without

  1. Kate Takes 5 says:

    What a great list – so with you on the conditioner AND I nearly put olive oil on my own list (the good stuff of course). Also love your duvet one – ah bed….
    You don’t need to add the linky here btw.
    You have now completed your first Listography – congratulations!

  2. londonmum says:

    Yay! It worked. Loving your blog, have just added it to my bookmarks 🙂

  3. Nel says:

    Thanks for the info on the olive oil, thats interesting. Im going to get the good stuff next time. Not buy on autopilot, ‘the biggest cheapest el crapo bottle’

  4. Enjoyed your list! I LOVE olive oil too. And do you know what, I always stand in the supermarket aisles staring at all the olive oils wondering how to find the best one available on those shelves. I know to get extra virgin but thats all I know. This was interesting!

    • londonmum says:

      thank you so much for your comment! Nice to know I have been useful. Hope you enjoy your new olive oil if you do get it and thanks for stopping by.

  5. andrea says:

    Great list!
    I can’t live without:
    -Moisturiser
    -Water
    -My computer
    -Google
    -My debit card (I NEVER have cash on me.. such a bad habit!)

    • londonmum says:

      totally agree with your list too. What is it with the lack of cash thing? If I lost my debit card I don’t know what I do. I don’t even own a wallet, I just carry my card in my bag or in my pocket!

Leave a Reply

