Poorly mum

Poorly Munchkin seems finally on the mend after nearly a week of being ill, a week of crying, a week of the washing machine being on 24/7. Thank goodness for vanish stain remover is all I can say.
Despite my OCD like washing my hands and spraying antiseptic everywhere the role of the sick one has been passed on to me.
I started feeling queasy yesterday morning at work and wasn’t sure if I should put it down to a late appearance of morning sickness. However, by the afternoon it became pretty apparent that it wasn’t morning sickness. I decided to head home early and on the way one of the most unexpected, unpleasant experiences happened to me.
I was driving and made it to within about three minutes of my house, fighting nausea all the way. I’m normally pretty good if I am feeling sick and can hang on till some bathroom is near. Even in my wilder youth the self control would kick in. Drunken student parties anyone? Evidently nature had other plans for me yesterday.
I threw up .while.driving.the.car.
Now on the positive side of this ( you have to look for the silver lining) I have discovered that I can drive a car in busy traffic at around 30 miles an hour and throw up many times without slowing down or causing an accident.
On the less positive side I have to say it was one of the most unpleasant experiences of my life. Driving along with a pool of vomit soaking through your jeans ain’t one of life’s pleasures.
The real highlight was the moment in which I had to turn the corner in front of a packed bus of people and was throwing up all the way. I actually saw the rightfully horrified face of the driver (oh the shame).
Luckily Jer was at home yesterday looking after munchkin so he managed to get a very hysterical wife out of her gross clothes and into bed pronto. Poor guy had spent the day changing munchkin’s clothes and sheets after one of his blowouts.
You know it is love when the person you think is the hottest in world can see you in that state and still want to come within 5 feet of you.
I’ve spent now yesterday evening and whole of today between bed and the bathroom without the ability to keep anything down. Was a bit worried about the effect on the baby but dr.google assures me that as long as I keep hydrated I should be ok.
I feel like this baby is getting a bit of a rough ride between me being sick a few times and being pretty stressed out. I feel bad about that.
By the way, for those of you following the upstairs neighbour saga we had to call the police last night as crazy loud music started at 3 am. Unfortunately, they say it’s a civil action not a criminal one and gave us a local environmental health number to call. In theory, they are a 24 hr service bur in our area only operate until 3 am ( it was now 3.45am). They will come out to assess the noise level if it is before 2am during the week and 3am at the weekend. As numbnuts’ favourite disco hour is after 3am this doesn’t help much.
He will be getting a letter of complaint this week through our letting agency so we will see what happens.
Jer and I sat up last night thinking of places to go on vacation. I am thinking a private villa with a pool and butler service is the way to go. That way if anyone throws up the butler can clean it up.
A girl can dream can’t she?

This entry was posted in motherhood, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poorly mum

  1. silenceandnoise says:

    Ohmygosh, this is horrible!! I feel so sorry for you guys 😦
    I hope you two are feeling better!! Hugs n kisses. xxo

  2. londonmum says:

    thank you!! Thankfully Aidan is now 100% better and is back to his happy, smiley self. I have still not made it back into work but at least was able to eat some toast this morning. At least I have time to catch up on my favourite blogs 🙂 x

  3. Shelley says:

    What a bummer! Glad to see you still have a sense of humor. We’re still in Africa. Absolutely amazing trip.

    With love from us….Shelley

Leave a Reply

