Make up for new mums – part two

It’s been a while since I indulged one of my other passions (apart from my son!) whilst writing my blog. A while back I wrote a post about some items of make up which I found essential as a new mum. You know, those items which take 2 minutes to put on but make you feel that you can at least face the world outside of your bedroom! I had fun writing it so I thought I’d let you know about a few other products I use, in case you are looking for some inspiration.

As before, no company has asked me to write about these products (i wish…) and whilst they work well for me, they might not be suitable for your skin type/colouring etc.

I would love to hear any tips from you on what your essentials are, what you have tried recently that worked/didn’t worked.

For reference, my skin type is combination (oily t zone and dry cheeks and forehead) and I’m pretty damn pale.

Let’s start with products for your face as opposed to make up. This is my real sweet spot. I mean, I must have tried a hundred different creams, lotions and potions in the last few years in an attempt to make my skin perfect. Not too greasy, not too dry, not too irritated, not too prone to breakouts. Some have been good and some less so. I have tried from the super cheap to the super expensive and what I’ve learnt is that the super expensive doesn’t necessarily = the best.

A prime example of this is a celeb favourite – Creme de la Mer.

I am total sucker for magazine articles which say that Jennifer Lopez or Jennifer Aniston or some other pretty lady swears by some latest cream. This one pops up again and again and in a moment of pure retail madness I bought the cream. And it is REALLY expensive. I felt slightly sick after I bought it but my husband was with me and didn’t seem overly phased by my spending that much money on a tiny pot of cream for my face. Note: this was pre baby when apparently I had that thing called “disposable income”.

Anyway, I was super excited but unfortunately for me, this cream didn’t live up to the hype. It may works wonders for the A listers but for those of us not even on the alphabet it was less successful. The cream is super thick and super rich. If I put it on all parts of my face then the next day I broke out in spots. So disappointing. However, on the plus side this tiny jar has lasted well over a year because I only use it sparingly on my cheeks if they are very dry. My guess is that if you have extra dry skin then this product might be great but otherwise it is on the heavy side. That will teach me to go spending silly amounts of money on a face cream. You live and learn. (Would that stop me from dropping a similar amount on a different brand if I still had the money? Nope….)

So what has worked for me?

I have found a product for my face which I absolutely love. It is called Truth Serum by Ole Henriksen.

I hadn’t really heard much about this brand except that it was an organic/natural range. The reason I tried it was that I got a little bottle of it as a sample from Sephora. I am member of their VVIP club which is a great thing to sign up for if you do buy things there occasionally. Usually if you have spent a certain amount then they give a choice of samples at the checkout. I thought I’d give this one a go.

Essentially, it is a serum that you put on before your normal moisturiser. I’ve tried a few of these before without seeing anything special but this one is different. My skin has been going through a bit of a rough patch recently (somewhat literally) as we move into winter and central heating. It has become a bit flakey and red. This stuff has sorted it out completely. My skin is smoother, less dry and looks brighter. I like it so much a bought a full size bottle as soon as my sample had run out. It’s not gloopy, too rich or greasy. I’d really recommend trying it. Here’s a little bit of the blurb from their site which gives you more detail:

“Like a daily vitamin for your face, this high powered vitamin C complex helps smooth out lines and wrinkles and prevents further damage. Loaded with antioxidants to fight off environmental aggressors and moisture-binding ingredients to keep your skin nourished and protected, this aromatic serum is absorbed instantly and penetrates to the deeper layers of the skin to provide long term results. Sensitive skin prone to irritation will benefit immensely from the calming properties of this oil-free serum.”

Love it!

Here’s another of my favourites and one that I have been using for at least 20 years. Have never found a product to rival it for removing eye make up.

It’s Chamomile Eye Makeup Remover by the Body Shop.

Why do I love this product? It’s not very expensive, it’s exceptional at removing mascara, eyeliner and under eye concealer, you don’t have to drag the cotton wool when you use it and most of all, it doesn’t sting my eyes at all. It feels very cooling and I can’t really live without it (well, I could if it was the end of the world but you get my drift).  I also love the fact that it comes from the Body Shop.

So that’s my 2 favourites for products for your face.

Moving on to make up, I have 2 products to tell you about.

The first is one I read about in the Sephora newsletter and thought I’d try out. It’s called EyeShadow Primer Potion and it’s made by Urban Decay.

I don’t tend to wear eyeshadow a lot and if I do it tends to be one that is brightening and in a light colour. I have quite dark eyes and shadows around them so dark colours don’t work for me at all. This product ticks several boxes for me: it’s brightening, it stays put and it makes my eyes look bigger- all good! I use it not as a primer but on it’s own. The shade I bought was Champagne shimmer which has a slight gold tint to it (it’s the one on the right in picture above). Worth a try.

Finally, here is my holy grail of foundations. I have tried so many I can’t even remember them all in the past. Here’s what I want from a foundation: it should be not heavy, won’t settle into dry patches or lines, won’t look orange, won’t make me look like I work behind a beauty counter (no offence, it’s just way too much make up for me), and look like my skin only better.

Yep, I agree it’s a lot to ask but I have finally found one that meets my requirements and I’ve been using it for about 6 months. It is called Vitalumiere Fluide by Chanel.

The reason I tried it is because there was a sample in a magazine I had bought. Normally, I’m not one for trying things you get in magazines but thought it looked quite nice so I slapped it on. In the past, I’ve found these sorts of samples tend to be so generic and therefore, too dark for my skin type. This one was a perfect match. I headed out to my local beauty store to buy it. The lady behind the counter said that she had had a few new customers coming in saying they had tried it from a magazine and loved it. The shade I use is 20 Clair.

It makes my skin look fresh and dewy and very easy to blend, I use my finger tips. I really love it. Just noticed that there are lots of blog entries about this product on the web so worth reading a bit more if you are interested. I would also suggest asking for a sample of it from your nearest Chanel counter just to see how it goes.

There we are, a pretty long post but once you get me going on this subject it’s hard to stop!

Please let me know if you’ve tried any of the things I’ve mentioned or if you have any tips to share.

x

 

This entry was posted in motherhood, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make up for new mums – part two

  1. silenceandnoise says:

    I’ve never tried any of these… I might try the foundation since mine is running out. I’ve also tried a couple of creams and the best ones are Aquasource by Biotherm (least greasy cream ever) and Beaute Initiale by Chanel (a bit thicker, but it is SPF 15). Ku got me the Chanel one because I got a free sample for a similar one which I loved (Hydramax Active). I seriously LOVED that cream. I asked Ku to get it for me at the duty free in Heathrow when he was on his way to see his parents in Botswana. Turns out the lady helping him thought that cream was too strong for me (she asked my age and about my skin) and recommended one for younger skin. He bought it and it was ok, not great… I still like it, but the “stronger’ one was just amazing, like no other cream I have ever tried before…

    I love reading about this stuff from people I know (rather than magazines). xxo

  2. londonmum says:

    Thanks for the tips on the creams, great to know. I think I have tried the Biotherm one in the past and liked, smells divine from what I remember. I haven’t tried the Chanel one so that is definitely one I will try out if I get a chance. I am a bit of a Chanel addict, the quality of their creams and make up just seems really good. It’s on the pricey side but a nice treat. x

Leave a Reply

