Eco nappies (diapers!)

Image of a cartoon baby with a nappy

courtesy of timmenzies on flickr

For a while I have been feeling a bit on the guilty side about the amount of rubbish (trash) we have been creating by using disposable nappies (diapers – don’t you love my UK/US simultaneous translation?) Now, let’s get this straight, not guilty enough to actually switch to cloth nappies unlike another blog mum I follow, bebehblog. I have a pretty strong gag reflex and the idea of having to deal with cloth nappies just makes me want to run a mile. Plus I have a feeling it wouldn’t actually be either economical or eco friendly because I’d end up just throwing half of them straight in the bin (garbage) rather than get them ready to put in the washing machine! I admire people that do use cloth nappies but it just isn’t for me.

So up until now we have been using a well known commercial brand of nappies which have served us well.  This week though I made a trip to our local supermarket and something caught my eye. I am a big fan of this supermarket because even though it’s a wee bit more expensive than some other stores they are the most “green” supermarket in the country, trying to support local vendors, cut the carbon footprint and they stock a huge range of organic products. Plus they have an awesome online delivery service which prides itself in being as carbon footprint friendly as possible, they ask you to give the driver back any plastic bags they brought to you the last time etc.

What caught my eye was a range of “eco-nappies” and  I finally took the time to read the back of a packet. I was a bit sceptical about how good these nappies would be as I don’t really want leaks or something which makes Munchkin uncomfortable for any reason. However, I thought I’d give it a go and see how it works out. I put the first one on him this morning and I have to say I am impressed. They seem really soft and the sticky fasteners don’t seem as …..toxic for some reason! There were no performance issues and Munchkin seemed perfectly happy so I’m pretty pleased.

I wanted to explain how they worked so I have copied here a bit of blurb from their website as it is the best way. (note I am not being reimbursed in any way for this post, I am sure they have no idea I have written it!!)

The story behind the first ECO-friendly high-performance baby diaper/nappy.
It took a concerned Swedish mother to make it. Marlene Sandberg, former law firm partner and the mother of two boys: “It all started with a newspaper article.
It said that every year of a baby’s life resulted in a mountain of used diapers/nappies weighing half a ton, every year. Half a ton!
Even more disturbing was the fact that the traditional diapers/nappies were mainly made of plastic made from oil! An oil product that comes in contact with the child’s delicate skin. I got really upset. Couldn’t this be done better?”
Nature babycare is the result of many years of intense work and development: The first ECO-friendly high-performance diaper/nappy based on new green technology, protected by a Swedish patent. Soft, thin, comfortable and with perfect sizing. With an exclusive chlorine free absorbent material. With corn based compostable non plastic leakage barrier, distribution layer and consumer packaging. And performance as well as the best “traditional” diaper/nappy.

The interesting part for me is that they are compostable. My challenge now is that I live in a mansion block of flats with a communal garden. There is a compost heap which anyone can contribute to but my dilemma is this: how are my neighbours and the gardener going to react to seeing dirty nappies/diapers on the heap??  Will they be grossed out? Will they understand that I have not gone mad and that these nappies are made to be put on the compost heap?

As this is a new area for me I’d love to hear your thoughts on eco nappies and what to do about the whole compost issue!

This entry was posted in new baby, parenting, Products, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eco nappies (diapers!)

  1. silenceandnoise says:

    I have never used this kind of diapers, so I don’t have anything meaninful to say… but is there a way you can talk to your neighbours? Or leave a sign by the bin that explains the diapers are compostable and that if they have any questions they can get in touch with you? I am almost sure not everyone in your building has heard of these diapers, so people are bound to be confused. Is there a compostable bag you can put them in first? Can you double-bag them? I hope you manage to sort things out!
    Happy Friday 🙂

  2. londonmum says:

    Good idea about double bagging them in some kind of biodegradable paper bag. Might be less freaky for people than seeing a diaper on the compost heap! Thanks for the suggestions.

    • silenceandnoise says:

      Here in Toronto, you can buy biodegradable bags that look (or are made?) like plastic. They are kind of green, kind of transparent, but they are made for compostables. I don’t know if they sell these in London, but maybe they would work to bag the diapers? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

