Me time

For the first time in nearly seven months I am getting a whole morning off! I will be starting back at work four days a week at the beginning of February and so we made the decision to employ a nanny for munchkin. This was a very hard decision for me as wasn’t sure that I wanted to leave him at all (I still don’t!) but felt that one on one care would be better for him right now than nursery.
Luckily I think we have found a great person to look after him after much research. She spent a whole day with us last week so I could show her the baby’s normal routine and have him intereact with her before I go back to work. He seems to really like her, lots of smiles and giggles. She also seems very caring and I have to say seems to know WAY more about babies than I do which is a good thing.
I am still struggling with the idea of leaving him and I expect my first drive to work will be accompanied by lots of tears (note to self, ditch the mascara that day). However, it is a decision we feel is right for our family and I am sure I’ll get used to it.
Part of getting used to it means having a few practice sessions before february. The nanny will have munchkin for a morning this week and a whole day next week. Which means…….I am footloose and fancy free for the first time in months. Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with munchkin and my husband more than anything but god, some days I would like to remember what it’s like to be by myself. To be able to leave the house without a shedload of equipment, to not have to work out if the place I am going has baby changing facilities, to not have to be back in less than two hours for a feed, to be able to go into a shop without fearing I’ll have to leave after five minutes because munchkin has woken up.
This leads me to my masterplan for tomorrow morning. I am going clothes shopping! woohoo! I realised that I have only tried on clothes once since munchkin was born and have been living in pjs and nursing tops (and maternity clothes for months before that!) Time for some smart back to work clothes. Then, when I am finished shopping I am going to buy a magazine and sit in a coffee shop and read ALL by myself.

Bliss…

This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Me time

  1. andrea says:

    Glad to hear you found a nice nanny!! It is difficult at first, but you will get used to it really fast, especially if you are busy at work. We just found a new nanny (it’s her first day today) and we had to rush the process so we didn’t get to interview many girls. She seems fine, though. So far so good. We still miss our “old” nanny!
    I hope you enjoy your day “off” 😉 No matter how much we love our baby, a day away from motherhood (is that even possible?) is bliss for sure! You should include a glass of wine (or two) in your outing!

Leave a Reply

