Baby talk

Came across an article just now which may be interesting to those  of you with different backgrounds/nationalities to your partner. Or if you are bringing up your child in a different place to the one where you grew up yourself. My husband and I often talk about what kind of accent Munchkin will have given that Jer is american, I am northern irish and we are bringing him up in London.

Apparently, babies cry with the same accent as their mother because they hear the intonation in the womb (Woohoo, I win, I win!!!)  The study carried out in germany suggests that babies’ cries imitate their mother’s tongue as early as three days old in an effort to bond with mum.

There is an audio clip in the article where you can listen to babies crying with german and french accents which I am dying to listen to. However, my northern irish accented baby is fast asleep on my lap and strangely I have little desire to hear his dulcet tones, much as I love him.

If you are interested here is a link to the BBC article and the audio clip. Let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in new baby, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby talk

  1. silenceandnoise says:

    Ku and I were actually talking about this study last night over dinner and wondered what would happen if the unborn baby is exposed to two or more languages. I speak English and Spanish on a regular basis and these languages have different entonations and accents.

    It also made me think about the first couple of days after Bresho was born. We had to share a room with another mom, and were intrigued about her baby’s cry. It was SO different from Bresho’s!

    We’ve also wondered about Bresho’s language development since we would like him to speak Spanish, Polish, and English and have discussed sending him to a French-immersion school. People tell us this will make him really confused and might lead him to lag behind in relation to his peers. We are still pretty set on it, though. We feel this will be an asset as he grows up. We just need to be better informed about how to do it in a way that will not affect him negatively.

    This is a very interesting topic! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

