What did I learn yesterday 23rd September?

1) Babies and migraine do not a good mix make.

I woke up in the middle of the night with an almighty headache.  Having suffered from migraine for years I knew how this one was going to go. Sometimes I can go back to sleep and when I wake up it will be gone.  Other times, not a chance in hell. This was going to be one of those times. I realised I had run out of my medication (Imigran, a godsend) so would have to hang on till the morning. It is an exercise in self control which I sometimes wonder if it helped me during labour. My poor husband heard me being sick a couple of times and said he would work from home. Words can’t express the relief I felt,  I had no idea how I’d cope looking after the baby like that. He also drove to the chemist to get my tablets.  While he was gone the baby woke up and needed fed. Right in the middle of feeding him I had a terrible bout of nausea so had to whisk him back into his cot mid mouthful. By the time I got back from throwing up he had thrown up all over himself, no doubt from having been moved so suddenly. Nothing like cleaning up baby puke when you feel like puking yourself.

The tablets work very effectively, thank god. I take one, sleep for a couple of hours and when I wake up the headache is gone. I feel a bit wobbly but no pain is such a relief. The only downside is that you are not supposed to breastfeed for 12 hours after taking them. So baby was formula fed all day which made me feel a bit guilty but he seemed perfectly fine. If I could not take the tablet I would but the alternative is to spend the day in pain, throwing up every 20 minutes which isn’t much use to a baby.

Now I think about it I didn’t have 1 headache when I was pregnant.

2)  Coffee with other mums is actually a really good thing to do.

When I first became pregnant everyone told me I’d spend my days hanging out with other mums talking about babies.  At the time I couldn’t think of anything less appealing than drinking coffee with strangers with whom the only thing I had in common was that I had managed to reproduce.

However, I have been forced to eat my words and now have the great luxury of being part of a group of new mums who met at antenatal class.  We went along to NCT (National Childbirth Trust) classes run by the charity supporting all aspects of childbirth and parenting in the UK.  I highly recommend these classes in the run up to birth as they place a huge emphasis on the social networking aspect of meeting other parents.  There were 8 of us in the class and dads came along too for most classes. Our teacher encouraged us to meet up once a week once on maternity leave and then once the babies are born.

Our Wednesday afternoon coffee meets are a highlight of my week. For one thing they give me a point of focus during the week when most days seem to run into each other. The other great thing is spending time with people who know exactly what you are going through. About 5 of us meet regularly and there is always someone who arrives late because their baby needed changed at the last minute, someone who orders 2 coffees as their baby slept a 90 minute intervals only during the night, someone who took their baby to the doctor because they were worried he was sneezing too much and so on.  These afternoons allow us to share our fears, ask daft questions, compare our babies (not always a sensible thing to do) and most of all, feel a sense of belonging.  None of us would have met each other and become friends otherwise and yet our common bond as new mums is proving a strong one.

So thank you ladies for your support!

3) Babies looking at other babies is pretty damn funny.

Two of the babies sat opposite each other during our afternoon and for the first time seemed aware of each other.  I don’t know who laughed more, the babies or the mums but it was a pure delight!

4) Receiving a comment is very rewarding

I received my first comment on my blog yesterday and was super excited. I can’t believe someone read what I wrote and felt motivated to write back.  I read this person’s own blog last night and it is really good.  We are from different cultures, live in different places and yet share some very similar feelings.  There is more to blogging than I had thought.

This entry was posted in motherhood, new baby, parenting, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What did I learn yesterday 23rd September?

  1. silenceandnoise says:

    I really like reading your posts! It is good to know I am not the only one trying to adjust to life with baby, I know I’m not, but some days it feels like I am! You are very lucky to have a group of friends with babies who you can talk to. I have been to a couple of playdates, but there are always different mom’s there so I haven’t found moms who I can meet in a regular basis.
    Thank you so much for mentioning me in your post and for adding me to your blog-roll!
    I hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

